I was asked to cover for Diane, our head cook in the school district, but thankfully I was asked to make a batch of mashed potatoes or enchiladas for 200.  My job that day was to run the computer at the point of sale and then monitor the lunchroom.  We have a new system for tracking meals and meal payments called Mealtime.  Diane uses a touchscreen computer and a keypad for PIN numbers to check students in each day.  The system will accurately account for deposits and payments.

I loved this job.  I got to greet the students as they came into the cafeteria, put some names with some faces I didn’t know that well, and chat with students after they were all checked in.

Afterwards, under the direction of the student workers in the kitchen, I helped bring items in from the salad bar and serving stations.  I was impressed with the efficiency, affable demeanor, and care the cooks put into this job as well as the students who helped in the kitchen.

Whether it’s in the garden or in the kitchen, Diane and her staff put in so much extra time and are always trying new ideas and recipes to meet the diverse demands of our students’ palates.  My own kids are a bit picky at the dinner table and I can’t imagine multiplying that pickiness by 200!  Diane served on the wellness committee this year and we conducted a cafeteria survey for parents, staff, and students and received some valuable feedback.  We acknowledge the difficulty in finding a balance between using high quality, organic foods and keeping the cost of the meal affordable.  We are planning to visit other school cafeterias next fall to get some new ideas.

Leave a comment