I finally got a chance to cover for Lacey, our preschool teaching assistant at the Greenwood Preschool.  We had it scheduled for a couple of months earlier, but school was cancelled that day because of river flooding.  I would be working with Julianne, our preschool teacher.

I arrived at 11:30 and I went outside to play with the children until 12:00 when their parents would pick them up.  I was dressed to play outside in the dirt with them, but I wasn’t dressed for the weather.  It was a cold, damp day and the wind was whipping!  The weather didn’t seem to bother the students though – they were on the swings, in the sandbox, and busy playing tag.  I made myself useful as a pusher for the swings and a construction manager for a sandbox village.  The students were so welcoming and eager to play with me.

Soon it was time for lunch and I was asked to read a book about trucks and construction equipment while they ate.  Parents arrived to pick up their children around 12:00 and my duties switched to clean up.  I helped pick up the toys on the playground, tidied the classroom, and did the dishes from the day in the kitchen.    Cleaning up at the end of each day is a big job in a preschool!

Leave a comment